Swami Pilgrim in the Land of Piment

Today, I became a yoga instructor in a country where 60-70% of the population is Indian or of Indian descent. 

It was only yesterday that I was asked to teach a class at the local gym and so I spent the day preparing my lesson and practicing my asanas.  It’s been a very long time since I had a regular yoga practice and it’s been even longer since I completed my Yoga Teacher Training at the Minneapolis Yoga Center.

When I first came to Mauritius I thought the place would be filled with yoga studios.  Not so much.  In fact, I think there may only be one or two studios devoted to yoga practice and study here.  The place to hit the yoga karma button on the island is in your home or in the temple when a Swami from India is visiting.

And so suddenly, my practice is back on and I’m now the American yoga chick who teaches over at the gym.  The class went better than I thought and people told me they really enjoyed it. 

I don’t know if this will turn into a full-time thing or not, but for the now its fun to teach one class per week and bring an Indian tradition that’s been totally Americanized into this part of the world that’s full of Indians.

 Talk about full-circle or some sort of chutney ricochet.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in Culture, Health & Fitness, Indian, Mauritius, Minnesota and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

