It breaks my heart

It’s another cloudy morning on the island.  Where is all that bright sunshine that we had last year at this same time? 

Tonight, I’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving by teaching my yoga class.  I’ve decided to instruct on a sequence that includes all of my least favorite poses with emphasis on trying to find comfort while in the pose and moving through the sequence with a happy heart.

The Frenchman and I were discussing last night over dinner how much both of us have grown and changed during our time here. And it’s cool to look back and see how many of our big frustrations have become nothing much at all.

One of the more interesting things I find within myself is that I no longer seem to be able to view current events back in the States with just a one-way perspective.  What’s even more shocking to me is that I’m able to admit that I used to do just that even though I used to think that my views and attitudes were the open and free ones. 

But, it just seems too close-minded and simple these days to pretend that I have all the answers.  The more I get to experience people who are not like myself, the more I am able to better understand and take the time to listen to those that used to seem so different from me back in the States.

It breaks my heart to read all about the bickering and squabbling that Americans are doing amongst themselves.  It really does.  Since I’ve been gone, I’ve entered into a new love affair with my country.  It’s perplexing and saddening to witness the great divisions within American from abroad.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends and family back in the States.  Tonight, I will send my happiness to you in thanks for having had the amazing opportunities to have you all in my life.

I appreciate and respect each of you.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in Culture, Holidays, Mauritius, Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

