A Pilgrim’s Christmas

The exciting cross-cultural wonder of the French meeting the Americans to celebrate the holiday season is currently in full hot cocoa, mini-marshmallow, inflatable lit santas on lawns, non-stop christmas songs mixed with far too many bark-covered desserts mode.

One of the best things about leaving your own home and culture and taking the plunge to experience someplace different is the gift that comes when you return and everything old becomes new, again.  It’s an unexpected gift that can be both exhilarating and isolating.

For the moment I am having a love affair with civil and electrical engineers.  The magnificent steel power line structures that run non-stop across the plains are pure magic in my eyes.  The highways, bridges and electrical sub-stations are beautiful and awe-inspiring.

The Frenchman understands my shouts of glee and wonder as we drive by, but they fall silent to the ears of everyone else.

Massive amounts of snow have fallen and the air is crisp and clean.  Standing outside and just taking deep, long breaths is such a sweet pleasure. 

It’s time to celebrate and to enjoy.  I think there may even be a Jell-o salad within the next few days and I don’t know what will be more lovely, my reaction or watching the reaction of the French.

Happy Holidays.  Be merry.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Pilgrim’s Christmas

  1. travelgalart says:

    Oh how I wish I was there with you guys. Merry Christmas to you, the frenchman, your fine famlies and all you small towners in the land of Minny! Pictures…lots and lots o’ pictures. I especially want a shot of the frenchies diving into that mound of Jello! Merry Merry!

    Love the Travel Gal!

  2. Katiecutehair says:

    I’m glad that you get to celebrate Christmas at home where it’s cold and wintry. I must admit my first Christmas in Mauritius wasn’t exactly what I had anticipated, but I am sure as time goes by I’ll adjust to celebrating Christmas in shorts and a tank top. 🙂 Happy travels as you return.

Leave a Reply

