Weather as Entertainment

On the island, a storm with lots of thunder and lightning was causing all sorts of problems (electricity on/off/on, internet on/off/on); and on the east coast back in the States, there was a crazy snow blizzard. 

Is it global warming or are satellites from space controlling the weather?  Or am I just WAY too aware of the weather these days?

In the almost two years since I have lived here, I don’t ever recall hearing the rumble of thunder nor seeing the bright, white flashes of lightning until recently.  The northern part of the island got thumped pretty hard from this storm and it was a bit of a thrill.

You know you’re hard up on choices for entertainment or lacking in areas of any real responsibility when watching the clouds move through the sky becomes a part of your daily list of things to do. 

From all of this cloud gazing, I feel pretty confident in my ability to tell if that grey mass in the sky will be just a quick shower or if it’s going to produce an all-day downpour.  When it rains and it’s still sunny, I really have no clue; but I do enjoy the rainbows as a result.

There are many rainbows in Mauritius and I have been lucky enough to see both ends along with the full arch, which is pretty cool, on more than one occasion.

But, trying to prepare ahead by checking the weather on-line here is just kind of useless to me.  After getting used to the fact that the weather moves counterclockwise (hello, southern hemisphere of the world), I still don’t get much useful information from viewing satellite images for the area.  

When I used to check the weather regularly on-line, I would see large masses of clouds and various storm formations moving towards Mauritius, but then, where exactly was Mauritius among all that white cloudiness? 

It’s so tiny that by the time you zoom in to see if anything is really happening, the entire country is either completely covered by a giant cloud mass or is about to MAYBE be hit by any variation of potential cloud groupings. 

And what happens on the ground is dependent on the speed in which the storms move across the ocean and ‘the edge of the storm’ can also have a big impact.  These things are lost on me and I fear that any ambitions I might have to be a round-the-world sailor, will not be coming true any time soon.

There can also be huge differences in the weather on any given day in various places on the island.  The satellite image will show a cloud mass over the island or about to touch the island and it will be pouring rain in Port Louis, but up in the north it will be dry and sunny.  For such a small land mass, it still amazes me that there can be these types of variations from place to place at the same time.

The mountain areas tend to get more rain than other parts of the island; but I must say and from my own personal experience that the north, which is considered to be one of the driest parts of the island, does get quite a bit of rain, as well. 

Over time, I’ve just started to watch the sky and I tend to think of each day as bringing any variation of weather surprises.  I never really know what is going to happen. 

The only thing certain is that when you live on a tropical island such as Mauritius, you can be sure to expect huge amounts of humidity at all times throughout the year.

How humid is it?  We have these anti-humidity tablets from France that we’ve been using in the closet in an effort to fight off the mold and they seem to be helping. 

The box says the average time a tablet will last is two months and that you MIGHT need to empty the water collected during this time.   Our tablet is completely dissolved within two weeks and I have to empty the water collection container a few times in between each tablet.

The plus side of all this in-the-air water is that I no longer need to wear moisturizer, hand lotion or lip goo of any kind. 

Whenever we fly to France or back to the States, one of the first things that both the Frenchman and I notice is that our lips flake (kind of a lot at first – very pretty) and our skin losses that lush, greasy shine that it normally sports all year-round on the island.

I come from the Land o’ Lakes with big skies and wide prairies.  I know how to layer and can recognize the coming change of a season.  I can scrape ice off my windshield with any found object and I know that I can expect the crocus to be one of the first bits of green to shooot out of the ground after the dark winter.

I do not know how to read tropical island weather patterns nor do I know how to keep our coffee table bolts from rusting.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Environment, Home, Mauritius, Mold and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weather as Entertainment

  1. Wendie says:

    Love it! I too have been thinking about the weather in Minnesota and have been replying to emails in a rather guarded manner. No complaining about the 55 degree weather or describing the white caps on the sea.

    Malta is so small that when the forcast calls for rain, we’ve discovered that this does not mean “Rain” all day. It can come at anytime and leave just as quickly.

    Outside of the Christmas Eve snowstorm, I do not miss it at all!

  2. Hey, what an entertaining read! Thanks for the visit and I look forward to following your blog and learning about Mauritius. I think maybe we should have an exchange. You come here 6 months, I’ll go there. I could use a beach about now!

Leave a Reply

