Spice Island

Mauritius was a stop on the spice route way before the days of freeze-dry, and one of the things I have really dug while living here is that I’ve been able to experience all sorts of new spices and flavors in my day-to-day eating.  Old and familiar flavors have become the totally unexpected simply because of the quality of spices available.  

A recently discovered favorite past time?  When something old and familiar becomes new once more – why has no one created a reality TV show on this, yet?

The time has come to finaly say farewell to island living.  And I guess I’ve fallen into the typical expat experience.  Just when I was really starting to feel at home, it’s time to change once more. 

I wanted to stock up on a few items before I set sail on the spice route heading north.  And because I’m a curious critter, I thought I’d share what I pay here in Mauritius for certain spices and what it would cost in the States for the same spice and quantity. 

I have stuffed our container with cheap antibiotics and spices.  If there was a nook between the sofa cushions, it got filled with a dose of amoxicillin or pink peppercorns.

I will be creating a badly designed website and selling these things at incredible ‘bargains’ once I get settled in our new home.

Dang.  Why doesn’t anyone want to major in ‘spice merchant-ing’ at college?  There’s gold in that there black pepper.

Rupees to dollar conversions were done using a rate from the 25th February, 2010.

My list of spice (and future fall-back retirement plan):

  • Garam Marsala (apprx. 2 oz) 25.50 Rupees or $0.60
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount $6.69
  • Bourbon Vanilla Beans (apprx. 12-14 beans) 364.00 Rupees or $8.60
    • Price listed at Amazon.com (seller JR Mushrooms & Specialties) for 7 beans $9.99
  • Bourbon Vanilla Extract (apprx. 4 oz) 256.00 Rupees or $6.05
    • Price listed at Amazon.com (seller Kitchen Skills and Tools Ltd.) for same amount $7.49
  • Curry (apprx. 4 oz.) 22.00 Rupees or $0.52
    •  Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount of ‘hot curry’ $6.69
  • Green Cardamom Pods (apprx. 2 oz) 11.60 Rupees or $0.27
    • Price listed at Spice Barn for 1.5 oz $5.99
  • Pink Peppercorns (apprx. 2 oz) 52.00 Rupees or $1.23
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for 2.2 oz $14.45 
  • Ground Cinnamon (apprx. 4 oz) 12.00 Rupees or $0.28
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount of ‘Ceylon Cinnamon’ $8.79
  • Tumeric (apprx. 2 oz) 6.00 Rupees or $0.14
    • Price listed at Amazon.com (seller Sadaf) for 2.4 oz $1.77
  • Whole Nutmeg (apprx. 4 oz) 26.00 Rupees or $0.62
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount $6.69
  • Mustard Seed (apprx. 2 oz) 10.00 Rupees or $0.24
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for 2.5 oz. $3.25
  • Ground Coriander (apprx. 2 oz) 10.50 Rupees or $0.25
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount $3.89
  • Whole Star Anise (apprx. 1 oz) 12.50 Rupees or $0.30
    • Price listed at Penzey’s Spices for same amount $3.85
About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in Chinese, Creole, Culture, Indian, Mauritius, Shopping & Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spice Island

  1. Wendie says:

    Please send me the link for spice site! Good luck to you! Are you headed back to Minnesota?

    btw, how do you get more than one picture in your header?

    (I understand if you are too busy packing to respond! I just think it looks cool.)

    Take care fellow Minnesotan Expat!

    • Minnesota Pilgrim says:

      Hi! I’m off to explore and learn about another country and culture. Up next – France! To get my header to look the way it does, I mangled a few pictures togther in, believe it or not, in PowerPoint. I sized them, grouped them and then saved the whole thing as a file to upload as my header.

  2. Wanderer says:

    Hi! Good luck to you! and Bon Voyage 🙂

Leave a Reply

