What’s More Exciting?

The fact that I’m going to be living in France?

The thrill of visiting Italy with one of my favorite people?

My new iphone and super-duper fast internet speed.

I almost started weeping when I first logged on in France.  And when I finally got my new fangled phone all set up, I was practically skipping amongst the French farmland, slopping kisses on those gorgeous Norman cows.

Is it sad and pathetic that I’m more excited about a phone and an internet connection than by the thrills of new countries and cultures?  Probably.  Do I care?  Not one bit.

It’s like all the best holidays, moon missions and global peace all rolled into one.  I can not believe how amazingly fast and smooth and just blessedly wonderful it is to have a solid, stable and fast connection speed.  Not to mention that I am no longer being constantly attacked by some hack virus or spybot.

If heaven has internet (and of course it will), the speed will be like it is in France.  And if God takes phone calls, he (or she) takes them on an iphone.

I forgot what it was like to have voicemail.  They don’t have voicemail in Mauritius.  People just call you and if you miss them, you just call back the number you missed.

It’s like creamy butter.  It’s like these amazing custard-filled donut things they have in Italy or the delicious giant cups of  morning cappuccino.  It’s like the Duomo sprinkled with glitter while the sun sets in the distance.

It’s just two things.  Two, everyday things that a whole heck of a lot of people have been utilizing day by day for days on days.

And I’ve just discovered them.

Re-entry, even if it’s not back to my home country, is proving to be like a re-birth; and I’ve only just begun.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

