Thought about space

In celebration of the upcoming change of seasons and because I am rather excited to experience autumn once again after having gone so many years without crunching down upon a leaf, there shall be more posts, more imagery and fewer words.

Those ‘tumblrs” got to me.

Also, expect to find more grammatical and spelling errors because I have decided to be more of and in the moment and post everything using the mobile app. Time shall yield results.

While back in the land o’ lakes, I couldn’t help but notice how public spaces seemed to be somewhat lacking in spirit. Even the new suburban-urban shopping complexes that have been sprouting up all over just felt kind of ho-hum to me.

Perhaps, I have been Euro-sensitized (dang those Europeans!) with all the glorious cathedrals, squares, cafes and markets. But, it just seemed like I spent a lot of time in the car and when I finally did reach my destination, I really didn’t want to spend that much time there.

I understand that the spacious and glorious size of the wide American landscape plays a part in this, but It would be nice to have more town centers with well designed public spaces. Spaces that make you want to sit and watch the world for a while.

At this moment, I am sitting here – a seating area located within a small shopping mall in Normandy, France.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

