The Scent of a Season

Maple Pancakes.  Creamy Caramel.  All Hallow’s Eve.  Boney Bunch Candy Corn.  Evening Air.  Apple Cider.  Apple Pie.  Autumn Leaves.  Autumn Wreath.  These fragrance memories and many more brought to you by Yankee Candle.

Ah, the Yankee Candle candle shops back in the States.  What Minnesotan hasn’t been in one of their shops or at least smelled one a floor away while shopping at the friendly neighborhood mall.  Lots and lots of candles.  When I lived back in the States, the first hint of chill in the air always made me want to burn candles.  The Frenchman’s mother was recently introduced to these fine American-made jars of freshly scented wax by my parents who brought some over on their last trip to France as a gift.  They were a magical glow hit, so much so, that the Frenchman’s mother is now searching out how to buy Yankee Candles in France.

Last night, I was signing her up to receive the candle catalog when I happened upon the following bit of text on the company website, “The majority of our candles are made by master chandlers (candlemakers) in our advanced manufacturing facilities in Massachusetts.”  Oh, Yankee Candle.  The MAJORITY of your candles are made in the USA?  So, what is that?  Definitely over 50%, right?  I have to think that the legal department had to put the blessing on that one, and so I am still going to refer to these candles as USA-made products even though I know darn-too-well that the ‘Yankee Manor Haunted Mansion Multi Tea Light Holder’ was more than likely made in China.

But the Frenchman’s mother’s interest does make me wonder, could Yankee Candle be a huge hit in France?  I’m kind of thinking – yes.  But, there may need to be some changes to the product offerings.

The French find names such as Night on a Beach, Christmas at the Beach, and Maple Pancakes to be kind of funny and a bit silly.  And I tend to agree for some of them.  What does Night on a Beach smell like, exactly?  I lived on a tropical island and I have to tell you that many times, day or night, the beach most definitely did not smell as if it should be bottled and sold.  Also, the vast amount of seasonal trinkets and certain home decorating items that Yankee Candle sells may not be of extreme interest to the French market.

I’m not certain that the ‘Mountain Lodge Bear and Raccoon Tart Warmer’ would be a hot seller.  First off, these animals seem too happy, smiley and as the company website describes them ‘whimsical’ to go down with the French.  Why should animals living in the forest be so smug?  And the bear is wearing overalls which are very clearly ‘last season’.

It would be very cool if more USA-made products were sold outside of the States as…what’s the word?…exports…right…that’s it.  And maybe this is already starting to occur.  On an encouraging note I did purchase three different shirts, which were all made in the USA, from three different companies/labels when I was back in the States on my recent holiday.  My immediate thoughts when I first saw made-in-the-USA on the label, “No. Way.  Where are they making textiles/clothing in the States?  VERY cool.”  And yes, I always – and I mean always – check to see where things are manufactured now.  I kind of think it’s my job as a consumer.

So, Yankee Candle how about working to have less fric-frac items for sale and more ‘Yes, ALL of our candles are made in the USA and we are known around the world for our exceptional quality; safe, non-toxic burning and totally groovy scents’.  Oui?  Yes.  I think we can.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France, Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

