Glow a Little

Not too long ago and just after I first crossed boarders into France, I went out for drinks with some friends.  Maybe I had been living on the island for too long or maybe I hadn’t frequented enough cool bars during my lifetime; but when the waitress set these bad boys on the table, I kind of had a mini-fit.  The French folk thought I had lost it, but I think they understood my complete fascination with these cocktails.  I mean, come on, now. They GLOW. 

And thoughts about these glow stick drinks came back to me as I was drifting off to sleep last night because right before turning out the light, I had read a blog post that hit a nerve or two and reminded me of my days of tropical African living.  I had those same conversations, knew of the stolen wires and cables and was familiar with an 8 month turn-around time.  The Africa Expat Wives Club is written by a British woman currently living in Kenya. 

Drifting off, I had the very satisfied feeling that since being in France not once have I had to worry about not having water or electricity.  It may be an odd thing to smile about while nodding off, but for those of us who have experienced these types of situations for lengthy periods of time, it is such a simple joy to be able to have faith in the reliability of some things.  A great reminder to be thankful.  In those moments of sleepy comfort, I thought that it really is rather lovely to be caught off guard by something as cool and insignificant as glow stick drinks.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

