Boots make every day better

The day was filled with accomplishments. I, not only managed to operate the letter weighing machine at the post office without assistance while using the French language screens (thank you, very much), I also managed to have my photo taken by one of those automated photo booth machines. I may have pushed the yellow button a few too many times before finally understanding that I needed to push the green one, but no alarms went off and I did it all by myself.

Days like today kind of feel like kindergarten, but in a really good, I-deserve-a-gold-star kind of way. When you plant down in another country, you basically have to re-learn almost everything and if a new language is also in play, well then, finally being able to understand that it was, in fact, the green button after only having to listen to the recorded message three (maybe four) times, is like scoring a B+ on a test for which you thought you’d only ever get a C.

In fact, I was so impressed with myself that I hesitated for quite some time before making my ‘I’m confused and I need some help, please’ phone call to the Frenchman. I had made it this far by myself and I only had one final thing to do. But after getting to the final stop without any problems, I had absolutely no clue which mailbox I should use to post my letter.

It was only a small snag and I learned a bit more about French department codes (rather important little buggers), but it was all good and ended with success. I was wearing my snazzy new boots which, I think, kind of carried me a bit throughout the day and there was champagne later in the evening.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

