The first day and I am drinking tea at a cafe

After months of interviews and immigration paperwork, I arrived for my first day of work in France only to be sent home after an hour. Apparently, my gang of teammates were not around and no one else had a clue as to what I should be doing. But, that’s cool because I will happily sit here and drink tea while still on the clock. After all it’s not my budget…at least, not yet.

Will working in France be as exciting, thought provoking and at times, mind-blowing frustrating as working in the poultry processing plant was back in Mauritius? Thus far, all signs point to ‘oui’.

Tomorrow is another day.

About Minnesota Pilgrim

A GenX Xpat who moved from Minnesota to Mauritius to France with her Frenchman lover. Multiple cultures, total bedlam, absolute bliss.
This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first day and I am drinking tea at a cafe

  1. Wendie says:

    As of yesterday I have one full month under my belt, and have received my first paycheck. I am so grateful, the working environment is very casual and everyone has been very nice and helpful. Like you, on my first day no one knew what to do with me, but I didn’t get to go to a cool cafe for tea, my co-workers rallied and got me going on something till my supervisor got here. I am a very happy girl right now!
    Wishing you all the best…!

Leave a Reply

